#BEDIA: Top 5 Vinyl Purchases of Summer 2016 (Day 29)

vinyl 2

This summer I have been keeping my eye out for some bargain records. I have a love for collecting vinyl and I never stop looking for new records to add to my collection. I thought I’d share with you some of my favourite picks from this summer’s haul.

Lou Reed – Transformervinyl 4

This is a new print of a classic album that everyone needs in their collection. I got it for my birthday from my parents and it was great to get such a pristine copy of a great album. Even if you just get this album for Perfect Day it’s worth it.

vinyl 7Original Cast Recording of Sweeny Todd

Sweeny Todd is one of my favourite musicals of all time and has an incredible score. I managed to grab a gatefold copy of the original cast recording in my trip to Archive Records a few weeks ago. Great copy with a lovely lyric book inside.

vinyl 3The Beatles – Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band

Beatles albums are normal pretty hard to find at a reasonable price, but I managed to pick up one of their most iconic albums. It’s probably more famous for the cover than the actual songs, but I couldn’t pass on having it in my collection.

vinyl 62001 A Space Odyssey Soundtrack

As film soundtracks go this is one of the big ones. The opening number, Also Sprach Zarathustra, is one of the most famous pieces of music ever written, even if people don’t know where it’s from they at least recognise it. I cannot wait to crack this one up and hear those horns blasting out as I run around the room dressed as an ape.

vinyl 5The Beach Boys – 20 Golden Greats

The final purchase was from today’s Bank Holiday boot fair haul. I managed to grab this Greatest hits compilation for just £1. It is in a great condition and has all the favourites such as Surfin’ USA, I Get Around and Barbara-Ann. No doubt I will get my money’s worth out of this album.

 

Leave a comment