#BEDIA: Why I buy physical copies of music (Day 12)

records-978813_1920

It’s been a long time since digital music was first introduced. Since then terms such as MP3, iTunes and Spotify have become household terms. However, in the past few years we have seen the growing popularity of vinyl, alongside the wonder that is digital streaming. So which is best? Here is why I still go down to HMV and buy a CD, or vinyl, when a new album is released.

In an age when Spotify is king of music consumption it is bizarre to think that the big bulky vinyl disc would make such a triumphant return. New music is once again being released on vinyl, but why? It’s become a popular trend that all musicians seem to be getting behind, you can even pick up the latest One Direction album on vinyl. I think it’s because over the past few years nostalgia has become immensely popular, as we’ve seen the return of franchises like Pokemon and Ghost Busters, and fashion trends going back to the 80s and 90s. This wave of nostalgia has got people looking for a simpler and more analogue time, hence the re-introduction of vinyl.

I personally love physical copies of anything. If I’m going to pay good money for a product I want to feel it in my hands. This doesn’t mean I am against digital music, in fact I really like Spotify, and the way in which it allows its users to discover new artists and genres. However, nothing can quite beat the process that goes into playing a vinyl record.

One of the main reasons I buy both CDs and vinyl is the artwork. Each cover has been designed specifically for that album, and many will go down in history as great pieces of art. Along with this the inside sleeves are covered with artwork and information you never get with a digital download. If it wasn’t for physical music we would be able to truly appreciate some of the best album covers created, such as the Any Worhol banana, the infamous Clash cover or the amazing picture of Ian Dury and his son on the front of New Boots and Panties.

I will never knock digital music down completel, it’s a great invention that I use every day, but I will always go back and buy physical copies of the albums I love. By doing this I get the joy of seeing my collection in all its glory.

One thought on “#BEDIA: Why I buy physical copies of music (Day 12)

Leave a comment