Coffee Shop Addict: The Cozy Cup, Evesham

Cozy CupAfter missing my train, and discovering I had an hour to kill in the sleepy, workaday town of Evesham I headed for a local coffee shop that I knew, however on my way I stumbled upon a new place to get my caffeine fix.

The Cozy Cup is situated on the Evesham high street, and to anyone who has lived in and around Evesham for a while, they will realise it is where the old trainer shop used to be. For those not from the ‘sham, it’s not too hard to find.

I went into the store quite skeptical, as the area isn’t somewhere I would normally expect  nice coffee shop to be, however I was very pleasantly surprised. I was welcomed at the counter by the owner who told me that they had only opened up 10 weeks previously. Despite the recent opening the business seemed to be doing well; there was plenty of people inside enjoying their coffees, teas and sandwiches. As I continued my conversation I was told how they had  had managed to bring over some customers from their previous shop in Cheltenham, another good sign.

My caffeine cravings seemed particularly strong that morning so I ordered a long black coffee, expecting an americano in a mug, but I was informed that it’s actually a stronger coffee, and has two shots in rather than just the one. This was a good sign, you can’t trust a coffee shop that only serves one type of coffee. I opted to sit outside as the sun was shining and the folks of Evesham were out in force. I had an hour to kill so people watching seemed like the perfect idea.11721379_965104773511162_609968481_n I sat down in the blazing sunshine, and before I knew it I was presented with a huge mug of steaming coffee. An may I say what a delightful mug it was (the coffee, not the actual container). The strong black coffee was rich and bitter, just as I like it. Plus, for only £1.80 you can’t go wrong.

I sat people watching for the next 45 minutes or so, and established that it was an ideal spot to watch the weird and wonderful people of Evesham, and hear snippets of their lives. With these snippets of conversation I found myself establishing these fictional lives for these strangers; what I thought these people were like just from half hearing some random line from one of their conversations. It’s interesting to do and really passed the time.

Before I knew it I needed to head off to catch my train. I thanked the owner and informed him of my return as soon as I was next in the town centre. The Cozy Cup really was a great find for me, and I was so glad to see an empty shop being filled with something other than another charity shop or hairdressers. So, next time you’re in Evesham, pop in and hopefully you will enjoy you’re visit too.

Leave a comment