Coffee Shop Addict: Bookstop Cafe, Steep Hill, Lincoln

Bookstop Cafe (1)I was back up Steep Hill to sample this week’s café. Just after the initial growling incline, I arrived at the Bookstop Café, nestled into the hillside.

I love to sit down with a good book and a warm drink on a rainy Sunday afternoon, and that is exactly what Bookstop Café are trying to give you. Situated into the hillside of Steep Hill the café entices their customers in with the promise of tea, coffee cake and literature. As I entered I was surprised to see the size of the store, it going back a lot further that I first expected. Presenting itself as a small shop from the outside Bookstop Café is like the T.A.R.D.I.S, bigger on the inside, providing seating at tables for a civilised lunch and comfy sofas for a relaxing afternoon coffee.

As I walked up to the counter I tried my best to take everything in, the shop is filled with bookshelves allowing the customers to sit and enjoy a variety of books to read with their drink. I got to the counter and was staggered by the huge collection of teapots but this was just the first surprise that Bookstop Café was going to throw at me.

I looked down at the menu and noticed that they didn’t have the coffee that I expected. My regular Americano was nowhere to be seen. At first my heart sank expecting some great coffee from this place. But the name of the coffee that I ordered really drew me in. So I ordered a Panama Dark Side of the Moon and found a nice comfy arm chair to settle myself into. My coffee is brought over and I’m presently surprised to be presented with a china cup and a pot of coffee. I pour myself a cup and the familiar rich smell fills my nostrils. The actual taste was very nice, for a filter coffee it was still strong enough and full in flavour, however it is not that much different from the coffee I can make at home. The name was great and having a pot meant I had a cup and a half which makes the £2.70 price quite good value for money.

Bookstop Cafe (5)As I sat and enjoyed my coffee I overheard the owner talking with some other customers and discovered that they offer over 300 different blends of tea! So all you tea bellies get down there. Next time I go I’ll have to sample a few. This is also a great place to sit with a good book; it’s nice and peaceful, with beautiful classical music playing in the background. Plus if you want to read something new you can just pick a book from the huge range they have on offer.

This quirky little store has a lot of character, and even though the coffee wasn’t the most outstanding cup I’ve ever had it was still very enjoyable. I’ll be returning to Bookstop Café to sample some tea and enjoy the friendly atmosphere that is offered to all their customers.

Coffee: 3/5

Atmosphere: 4/5

Overall: 7/10

If you want to find out more about Bookstop Cafe you can visit their Facebook page here:

https://www.facebook.com/BookStopCafe

Thanks for reading, let me know what you think in the comments section below.

Leave a comment